Illinois 4H Foundation Illinois 4H Foundation Illinois 4H Foundation
Give to the 4-H Foundation

You are here

Hall of Fame Award

Honoring extraordinary 4-H alumni, volunteers, and former 4-H staff.

Illinois 4-H Hall of Fame inductees have a track record of exemplary service to 4-H or outstanding career and community achievement and were nominated by either county University of Illinois Extension staff or by the Illinois 4-H Foundation Board.

Several Illinois 4-H supporters have also been honored in the National 4-H Hall of Fame.

Meet one of our winners

Deborah Werner

Manhattan, Illinois

Deborah Werner has been involved in Will County 4-H since 1992.  She has been very valuable to not only her club, but to Will County 4-H as a spokesperson and advocate for youth development.  She has used her position with Farm Bureau to help get publicity out on 4-H programs.  The biggest impact she has had on youth has been getting them involved in community service projects that have won State and National awards. Thank you for your hard work for 4-H, Deborah!

Read more

Previous Winners

Nomination Process

Each and every county has outstanding volunteers that keep their 4-H programming running strong! Take this opportunity to honor one of them by suggesting them for the Illinois 4-H Hall of Fame!

  1. Forms can be submitted by University of Illinois Extension staff only.
  2. Each unit may select one recipient per county.
  3. In mid May, the recipient will be mailed a letter from the Illinois 4-H Foundation congratulating them on being selected into the Hall of Fame and inviting them to save the date for the Illinois 4-H Family Event on the second Saturday of the Illinois State Fair. A formal invitation will follow in July. All inductees in attendance will be recognized as a group during the program and receive their medallion.
  4. The medallions for the inductees that do not attend the event will be mailed to the county/unit office by the end of September.
  5. We encourage you to also recognize your county's Hall of Fame inductee at a local event or 4-H achievement program sometime this fall.
  6. Submit the bio as you would like to have it read at award ceremony and also listed on the Illinois 4-H Foundation website. 
  7. You must provide a high quality digital photo (color preferred) of the inductee by June 1. The high quality head & shoulders digital photo should be emailed to us at:

Deadline for submission is May 1st.


Nominate Someone