Illinois 4H Foundation Illinois 4H Foundation Illinois 4H Foundation
Give to the 4-H Foundation

You are here

Ways to Give

Ideas for Giving

Donate stock or mutual fund shares: Donating appreciated securities, such as stock or mutual funds, can be a tax-wise way to support 4-H.

  • Avoid federal and state tax on the capital gain.

  • Receive an income tax deduction (federal and most states) for the full market value of the gift if you itemize deductions on your tax return and have held the assets one year or longer.

IRA charitable gift: Individuals age 72 or older per passage of the 2019 SECURE ACT, or Individuals who turned 70.5 before 2020, are required to take annual minimum distributions from your traditional IRAs and employer-sponsored retirement plans, and it is considered taxable income. A charitable distribution from your IRA directly to the University of Illinois Foundation to support the Illinois 4-H Foundation helps you avoid that increase in taxable income and makes a lasting difference in the lives of young people.

Legacy Gift: A will is the easiest and most effective means to ensure that you fully provide for your family and that your assets are distributed as you wish. Gifts by will or bequests, both large and small, are very important. Share the following language with your estate-planning attorney to add to your will or living trust. “I leave (e.g. % of estate, $ amount, residue) to the University of Illinois Foundation, an Illinois nonprofit corporation (37-6006007), for the benefit of the Illinois 4-H Foundation supporting the Illinois 4-H Youth Development Program.

Making an Endowment: Everlasting Support for 4-H: An endowment can be created to continuously benefit a 4-H initiative or county 4-H program with a minimum gift of $25,000. If you would like to designate your endowment for a specific 4-H program or purpose, please contact the Illinois 4-H Foundation staff to develop a fund agreement that will detail your wishes to be carried out so that your gift supports the specific 4-H program(s) you choose. Establishing a named endowment insures a way to provide support to 4-H that truly lasts forever.